PHQ-9 and GAD-7

What are PHQ-9 and GAD-7?

With Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), by an accredited CBT therapist, every client is a mini case-study.  We apply 'research' principle to every case taking measure along the way. This helps to improve care and treatment on a case by case basis. Used in clinical CBT supervision helps to identify learning that a CBT therapist may need to explore learning, e.g. a particular workshop in one of the anxiety disorders.  Putting our data together demonstrates the services overall effectiveness and helps to benchmark against the industry standards, e.g. how we measure up to NHS England's IAPT service - we have 87% recovery compare to 48-52% in the NHS IAPT service.

The PHQ-9 and GAD-7 are standardised measures used to monitor clinical outcomes as part of Efficacy’s Clinical Governance strategy. These are increasingly used in robust mental health research to indicate a diagnosis, a classification of severity and outcome monitoring within national CBT therapy services.

Click here to take the PHQ-9 test

Click here to take the GAD-7 test

How to score the PHQ-9 and GAD-7 for Anxiety and Depression

The GAD-7 is a measurement for Anxiety Disorders and the PHQ-9 is a measurement for Depression. The PHQ-9 and GAD-7 are designed to facilitate the recognition for depressive disorders and anxiety disorders respectively. These are the national standard measures routinely used by GP’s, therapists and psychiatrists as screening tools.

The scoring for both measures helps people to ascertain how severe the issue is. The general rule is that the higher the number, the more severe the case is. See the table below to interpret the scores.

Download a pdf form here you can fill out easily and then check below the action you need to take

Download our PHQ-9 and GAD-7 form by clicking here




PHQ-9 and GAD-7 Scores